Bittersweet Chocolate Mousse!

The boyfriend was kind enough to help me make bittersweet chocolate mousse the other night. I think I enjoy having an assistant in the kitchen. But only one who follows my directions precisely. I rarely allow the boyfriend to really help me in the kitchen because I get annoyed as I like things done exactly the way I want them to be done. But the other night was an exception.

I wanted to make an easy dessert that didn’t require many ingredients or much time. This bittersweet chocolate mousse recipe fits the bar perfectly as I only need 4 ingredients (it reminds me of that show 4 ingredients on Foxtel, but I don’t like that show). It didn’t seem to take much time either, and if you have someone helping you it’s a breeze.

Start off by breaking 400g of dark chocolate into a heatproof bowl. I used 50% cocoa dark chocolate but I did prefer it to be darker. Lindt has a great range of good quality dark chocolate. Place the bowl over a pot of simmering water (also known as a double boiler, make sure the bowl is bigger than the pot, but also make sure the bowl can still fit into the pot) and stir with a whisk until all the chocolate has melted and is smooth. Make sure the water isn’t touching the bottom of the bowl or the direct heat will burn the chocolate. Remove the bowl from the heat and allow for it to cool gently. Be careful when you touch the bowl as it may be very hot. While the chocolate is cooling, separate 6 eggs (make sure there is no egg yolk in the egg whites, but a little bit of egg whites in the yolks is fine). When the chocolate has cooled slightly, add the yolks in one by one. As the yolks are added, whisk vigorously (otherwise the yolks will start to cook and you’ll have scrambled yolks in your chocolate). If your mixture turns out clumpy at this stage, do not fret. It’ll all turn out fine and dandy in the next step. In a clean bowl, beat the egg whites until soft peaks form. Slowly add 4tbs of caster sugar (I only had icing sugar, so I just used that) and beat until the mixture is stiff and glossy. You can also tell when it’s done if you take a bit in your fingers and rub them, the texture should be smooth and not grainy. Stir half of the egg whites into the chocolate mixture until well combined. Add the remaining egg whites and fold through gently. Don’t beat the death out of it or you will lose the air that makes the mousse light and fluffy. Pour 300ml of thickened cream into the empty egg white bowl and beat until thick. Don’t whip it too much or it turns out like cream cheese. Fold the whipped cream into the chocolate mixture. Again, do it gently as the air inside the cream adds extra fluffiness. Spoon the mixture into ramekins/glasses/bowls, cover with cling wrap and refrigerate for 2 hours, or until the mousse has set. Then it is ready to serve.



I think next time I’ll make it with darker chocolate. But overall I didn’t think the mousse was too rich or too sweet. It’s nice if you have some strawberries next to you. One chomp of the mousse, one chomp of the strawberry. Also, a mug of tea is always nice with dessert. I use the hot spoon from the tea to eat the mousse and it slices through it quite cleanly. Yes, I am kind of playing with my food, but it was fun. If you ever don’t have much time on your hands but still want dessert after dinner, this is perfect. You may even happen to have all the ingredients coincidentally sitting in your fridge or your pantry.

Happy nom nom nom-ing!
Leave a Reply

